Over the Hill

Some people think about going over the river and through the woods, or over the rainbow, but I tend to think about going over the hill.  Not that there are many hills around here (I live on one of the few), but there definitely are hills to go over in my mind.  Giant hills full of ants take over my imagination whenever I think about cleaning the refrigerator, for example.  I have to run and hide until the urge to clean goes away, taking with it the ants and their hills.  However, and on the other hand, when I have something I really must do and really do not want to do it, my impulse is to clean something instead, to make a giant hill that I cannot possibly get over and therefore cannot possibly do that horrible task.  The ants are just a clever addition to the whole hill thing, so you know how really horrible that task is/was/would be.

Why am I thinking about this now?  It will bring nightmares or something.  The thing is, I did in fact clean part of the house today, which means there is something that I am supposed to be doing that I don’t want to do.  The problem is, and the reason I think I may be a bit over the hill (in the other sense of the phrase, that is), I simply cannot recall what it is that I am supposed to be doing that I don’t want to do.  You see the quandary?

I am sitting here, or pacing there, building hills from the sand that I wish I was walking in, and I don’t know what I am avoiding.  This is not the first, nor will it be the last, time this has happened.  In a way, I am a little proud of my ability to do this.  After all, it shows that I have a genius for avoidance, and that must be a good thing to be a genius at.  At least I am not wasting my time looking for that stupid gold at the end of the rainbow.  And hills do provide the possibility of good exercise.  Plus, the weather is not so good for getting through rivers and woods, but imaginary hills are perfect, in all the ways that matter.

Don’t you think?  Does anyone know what time it is?

Leave a Reply

