Springing

A rain-free morning, so I thought I should get those Arbor Day dogwood trees into the ground.  I do love dogwoods, and while I have gotten some sprouts from Arbor Day in the past, none have taken hold.  But I do keep trying. So, into my gardening outfit and out I went into the almost sunshine.  First, I discovered that I had hostas planted where I had chosen to put the trees.  So I had to move the hostas, but there were lots of weeds where I wanted to move the hostas, so I had to do a bunch of weeding.  Weeding just takes me from one weed to the next and eventually I discovered that I am getting slightly damp.  So back to the hostas and get them into the ground.  I discover that it is not simply rain that is dampening me, but hail.  Speed counts now, as I run to finish the hostas.  So then I needed food and a warm cat, and in I go.  Later I remembered that I had forgotten to plant the trees.  Spring will still be here tomorrow.

One thought on “Springing

  1. There was a writer a few years back, who used your situation as the reason nothing ever got done around the house: if he was going to clean the gutters, he’d have to use the ladder, but his neighbor had the ladder and if he wanted it back he’d have to return the lawn mower…

Leave a Reply

