Dogs

Yesterday, I had a dog for an hour or so.  I must admit that there was a wonderful feeling of contentment when my dog came up to me and followed me into my back yard.  I have never “owned” a dog before, but now I see the attraction.  Here’s the story.

I drove home after picking up books at the library to take to storage for our library book sale and was organizing said books into various boxes (fiction, nonfiction, kid books, etc) when I looked up and saw this beautiful dog staring at me from my neighbor’s yard.  These neighbors are also cat people and I had never seen this dog before.  He was a very large dog, and to a non-dog person looked like a giant husky.  Black face and white body with other markings.  He and I looked at each other and I swear the dog smiled.  He moved slowly toward me and I saw that his hips and legs were not completely under his control.  I thought immediately that he had been hit by a car.  I looked up and down my street as he came forward and there was no owner in sight.  So I said “hi, babe” (even though for whatever reason, I call him he”) and smiled right back at him.  He picked up a little speed and before I knew it, he and I were best friends forever.  I rubbed his brow and he rubbed my leg. Still no owner, but this was clearly an old dog and very infirm.  Up close, his legs did not show evidence of a recent accident, but were more like advanced arthritis that had caused the legs to turn inward.  Anyway, we smiled at each other and rubbed, and I started walking around the side of my house toward the gate to my back yard, and this most marvelous creature followed me closely all the way back and through the gate into the yard.  I went in and got him a big dish of water and he drank a bit as I watched.  But, now what?

I belong to Nextdoor, a computer thing that allows messages to be sent to surrounding neighborhoods, so I posted a message that I had found a dog, and included his picture.  No responses came in, so I called SCRAPS, our local animal protection group, and explained that I had found this dog (actually, he found me) but that I could not keep him and could they help him?  Yes, they could.  A super lady came within an hour and she and the dog walked happily off to the truck (after she was able to get him back on his feet–he had decided to lay down for a nice nap and could not get up).  And just like that, my dog was gone.  I called later and was told that SCRAPS was taking my dog to the vet to see about fixing up his rear legs.  Perhaps his owners will think to call them.  The super lady had said that he might have been frightened by a severe thunderstorm we had the night before and worked loose.  If that is not the case, then it is my hope that the dog will find a new home where the people will take really good care of this marvelous creature.

So, now I know a little bit about life with dog.  I simply cannot forget that peaceful feeling of having dog keep me company on that short walk.

20170427_104340    Here is Dog.

One thought on “Dogs

  1. A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step. And of course you can keep a dog. Dogs get along quite well with cats. You will like dogs. Dog are pals. Cats are independent contractors. Talk to SCRAPS again.

Leave a Reply

